How does a forward flow agreement work for a lender?
An investor buys each new loan outright at a formula price, for a fixed term: the price, the share, the clock and the exits in Carvana's, Signet's and Pagaya's deals, and the Mexican trust that does the same job.
A forward flow agreement is an investor's standing promise to buy a lender's new loans as they are made, at a formula price, up to a ceiling and for a fixed term. Filed examples run from one year to five: Ally committed $375 million to Carvana's auto loans for 364 days, CarVal bought Signet's new receivables for five years.
A forward flow buys the loan, where a warehouse line only lends against it
A warehouse line is a revolving loan secured by loans the lender has already funded with its own money. It advances a share of their value and the lender fills the rest with equity. A May 2024 practitioner note on these deals by the law firm Weil puts that share at «70-90% of portfolio value». A forward flow buyer pays for the whole loan instead: the funder «funds 100% of an asset's par asset value (potentially plus a premium …)», often with part of the price deferred until the loans perform.
The filed contracts make the sale literal. In Signet's 2018 agreement with funds managed by CarVal Investors, Exhibit 10.1 to its Form 8-K, «one hundred percent (100%) of each Forward Flow Receivable … shall be sold by Seller to Company without recourse», and both sides intend «a true sale» and «not a secured borrowing». The loan leaves the lender's balance sheet on the day it is sold, two business days after it is made.
That is the trade. Weil writes that forward flow lets an originator «use the funder's balance sheet to originate loans (rather than its own funds, which would be more limited in the case of newer Fintech originators)». What the lender gives up is the loan's yield above the price it was paid: in a warehouse line that spread stays with the lender, in a forward flow it goes to the buyer.
Worked example, modelled: $10 million of loans originated in a month. Warehouse advance of 80%, inside the 70% to 90% range in Weil, Forward Flow Transactions, May 2024. Forward flow at par, as Weil describes the usual price, with and without a 5% holdback of the kind Signet accepted on its 2018 sale of existing receivables (release of 2 July 2018). Our computation, offered as such.
| Funding | Paid to the lender at sale | Lender's money in the loans | Who keeps the yield above the funding cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Warehouse line, 80% advance | $8.0m as a loan | $2.0m of equity | The lender, after interest on the line |
| Forward flow at par | $10.0m as a price | None | The buyer |
| Forward flow at par, 5% held back | $9.5m, then up to $0.5m later | $0.5m waiting on performance | The buyer, less the holdback paid out |
The forward flow frees the equity a warehouse line needs and gives the loan's spread to the buyer. A holdback brings back part of the lender's money at risk, but as a claim on performance rather than as a first-loss slice of debt.
The price is a formula, and the buyer keeps the right to reset it
Under the agreement Signet filed with the SEC, it sold each new receivable for «the outstanding amount of all unpaid principal amounts … multiplied by … one hundred percent (100%) minus the Discount Rate, plus … any Interim Interest». The rate itself is redacted in the filing. A schedule to the agreement resets it after each review of the portfolio's performance data, so that the price «represents a fair market value», and an agreed change applies back to the first day of the period. If the two sides cannot agree within ten business days, senior officers get fifteen more, and after that the old rate stands.
Carvana's buyer priced with its own model. The agreement with Ally Bank and Ally Financial, Exhibit 10.22 to Carvana's Form S-1, says the «Pricing Model shall be delivered by the Purchaser to the Transferor in a Microsoft excel file format», fed each week by an initial data tape of every loan Carvana made: the loan tape is what the buyer prices. Ally could change the model on 90 days' notice, or on 30 if quarterly vintage losses, the losses of the loans made in each quarter, ran 15% away from its assumptions or the two-year prime ABS spread rose above 0.75%. If no change was agreed within 30 days, Ally could stop buying.
The seller has a floor too. Carvana was not obliged to sell any pool whose price was «less than or equal to» its outstanding principal, so the contract ran at a premium or not at all. Seasoned loans sell differently: Signet's existing non-prime book went once, at a «Back Book Discount» of 72.0%, a price the new loans did not carry.
the least share of Carvana's eligible loans Ally had to buy every week
Picked by the ninth and tenth digits of the contract number, so neither side chose.
The commitment has a ceiling, a share and a clock
In the Form S-1 exhibit, Ally's commitment was $375 million, less 62.5% of any eligible contracts Carvana sold to someone else, and it ran to «the 364 day anniversary» of the agreement. Each week Ally bought one pool of at least 51% of the eligible loans made two weeks earlier. The loans were chosen by the last two digits of the contract number: at 85%, contracts ending 01 to 85 were sold and 86 to 00 kept.
Signet's agreement, filed with its Form 8-K, runs five years and takes every new non-prime receivable. Forty-five days before each fiscal year Signet sends a volume forecast; it pays a fee if purchases fall short, and the buyer may stop buying, on ten business days' notice, once purchases run above an agreed level. Signet could move up to 30% of the flow to a second buyer, and did: Castlelake took 30% «at the same discount rate», CarVal kept 70%.
Recent commitments are announced rather than filed. Pagaya said on 9 August 2024, in a release filed as Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K, that Castlelake would buy up to $1 billion of loans «on a monthly basis for an initial 12-month term». Upstart said on 6 May 2025 that funds managed by Fortress would buy up to $1.2 billion through March 2026, and that «Citi will provide the debt financing to Fortress». The buyer of a forward flow often borrows against the loans it buys.
As written in the agreements or in the companies' own releases filed with the SEC. Carvana and Ally: Amended and Restated Master Purchase and Sale Agreement, 6 March 2017, Exhibit 10.22 to Carvana's Form S-1. Signet and CarVal: Receivables Sale and Purchase Agreement, 12 March 2018, Exhibit 10.1 to Signet's Form 8-K of 14 March 2018, and Signet's releases of 2 May and 2 July 2018. Pagaya and Castlelake: Pagaya's release of 9 August 2024, Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K. Redacted terms are marked as such.
| Clause | Carvana and Ally, 2017 | Signet and CarVal, 2018 | Pagaya and Castlelake, 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loans sold | US auto loans | US non-prime receivables | US consumer loans |
| Commitment | $375m, less 62.5% of eligible loans sold elsewhere | Every new receivable, subject to an annual cap | Up to $1bn |
| Term | 364 days | 5 years | 12 months, extendable |
| Rhythm | One pool a week | Each business day, two days after origination | Monthly |
| Share of the flow | At least 51% of eligible loans | 100%, up to 30% movable to a second buyer | Not stated |
| Price | Buyer's pricing model, never at or below principal | Principal times (100% minus a discount rate), plus interest; rate redacted | Not stated |
| Price reset | Buyer's notice of 90 days, 30 on a 15% loss deviation or a spread above 0.75% | Each period, after a review of performance data, to fair market value | Not stated |
| Exit | No price agreed in 30 days; servicer replaced; other debt over $20m accelerated | Uncured breach; law change pushing yield below a floor; Signet's leverage ratio | Not stated |
Price, share, term and exit are the four numbers in play. The two full contracts put the buyer in charge of the price model and give it an exit when the model cannot be agreed, so the lender's protection is the term and the floor it writes in.
The lender keeps the servicing, the warranties and sometimes part of the price
Selling the loan does not end the lender's work. In the Carvana agreement filed with the SEC the servicer is paid one twelfth of a servicing fee rate on the pool balance each month; the rate was agreed separately and not filed. Signet must buy back any receivable that breaks a warranty or was originated by fraud, within «five (5) Business Days», and credits the buyer for any dilution.
Part of the price can wait. Signet's release of 2 July 2018, filed with the SEC, says it received $445.5 million for its existing non-prime book «net of a 5 percent holdback», which «may be paid out at the end of two years depending on the performance of such receivables». Weil describes the same device in forward flows: deferred consideration, «payable where certain performance conditions are met», in place of the first-loss tranche a lender holds in a warehouse.
The exits are short. A buyer that fails to pay Signet has two business days to cure before Signet may sell the flow to someone else. Ally could end its commitment if Carvana or an affiliate had more than $20 million of other debt accelerated. Signet wrote its buyer's exit into its own leverage ratio, so a lender's balance sheet can end the flow even when its loans perform.
In Mexico the same purchase runs through a trust and is called a warehouse
We found no Mexican transaction publicly described as a forward flow. The function exists under another name. IDB Invest's line for Konfío, signed on 17 September 2020, lent up to 1,140 million pesos to a Mexican special purpose vehicle, half committed and half uncommitted, and the vehicle could «only use the proceeds … to purchase and accumulate MSME loans, originated by Konfío, in according to eligibility criteria acceptable to IDB Invest, for their future securitization».
Rights to the loans pass to such a trust or SPV by cesión de derechos, the assignment of credit rights under Mexico's federal Civil Code. For a Mexican lender reading a term sheet, the label matters less than three questions the filed contracts answer: who owns the loan after the sale, how much of each loan is paid at once, and who may change the price.
Terms, quotations and amounts are as written in the agreements and releases named; the own-money table is our computation from Weil's range and Signet's holdback, and the redacted figures are not estimated.
Questions this raises
- What is a forward flow agreement?
- A standing agreement in which an investor commits to buy a lender's newly originated loans that meet agreed criteria, at a formula price, up to a ceiling and for a fixed term. The loans are sold outright and usually serviced by the lender. Carvana's 2017 agreement with Ally committed $375 million over 364 days.
- How is a forward flow different from a warehouse line?
- A warehouse line lends against loans the lender has already funded, at an advance Weil puts at 70% to 90% of portfolio value, and the lender keeps the loans and their yield. A forward flow buys the loans at a formula price, which Weil says is usually par, so the lender needs no equity behind them but passes the yield to the buyer.
- How is the price set in a forward flow agreement?
- By formula. Signet's 2018 agreement priced each new receivable at unpaid principal times 100% minus a discount rate, plus accrued interest, and reset the rate each period to fair market value. Carvana's 2017 agreement used the buyer's own pricing model, which Ally could change on 90 or 30 days' notice.
- How long does a forward flow agreement last?
- In filed and announced deals, from one to five years: 364 days for Carvana and Ally in 2017, five years for Signet and CarVal in 2018, an initial twelve months for Pagaya and Castlelake in 2024, and May 2025 to March 2026 for Upstart and Fortress.
- Are forward flow agreements used in Mexico?
- Not under that name in any public record we found. The same function runs through Mexican trusts and special purpose vehicles that buy a lender's new loans against eligibility criteria, such as IDB Invest's line of up to 1,140 million pesos for Konfío in 2020, with rights transferred by cesión de derechos.
Where every figure on this page comes from7 sources
- 01Carvana Auto Receivables 2016-1 LLC, Ally Bank and Ally Financial Inc., Amended and Restated Master Purchase and Sale Agreement, 6 March 2017, Exhibit 10.22 to Carvana Co.'s Form S-1 filed with the SEC on 31 March 2017: sections 2.1, 2.3, 2.4 and 3.1; definitions of Commitment Amount, Scheduled Commitment Termination Date, Freestyle Selection, Catalyst Event and Servicing Fee.
- 02Sterling Jewelers Inc., Zale Delaware, Inc., Signet Jewelers Limited and CVI SGP Acquisition Trust, Receivables Sale and Purchase Agreement, 12 March 2018, Exhibit 10.1 to Signet's Form 8-K filed with the SEC on 14 March 2018: sections 3, 7, 15, 18 and 20, Schedule 1.1(a); definitions of Forward Flow Purchase Price, Back Book Discount and Holding Period.
- 03Signet Jewelers, releases of 2 May 2018 and 2 July 2018, Exhibits 99.1 to Forms 8-K: Castlelake as minority purchaser at the same discount rate, the 70% and 30% split, $445.5 million net of a 5% holdback.
- 04Pagaya Technologies, release of 9 August 2024, Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K: Castlelake forward flow agreement for up to $1 billion of consumer loans.
- 05Upstart, release of 6 May 2025 (Business Wire): Fortress forward flow commitment of up to $1.2 billion through March 2026, financed by Citi.
- 06Weil, Gotshal & Manges, Forward Flow Transactions, May 2024: funding at 100% of par against a warehouse advance of 70% to 90%, purchase premium and deferred consideration.
- 07IDB Invest, Konfío Warehouse Line, project 13057-01, disclosed 31 March 2020, signed 17 September 2020: up to MXN 1,140 million in two tranches to a Mexican SPV buying MSME loans originated by Konfío.